Laws & Regulations
Who needs the Utah Boating Safety Education Certificate?
All boaters between 12 and 17 years of age must have a Utah Boater Education Certificate to operate a personal watercraft. BOATERexam.com® is a delegated provider for the Utah State Parks.
$34.95 + $5 state fee
Returning user? Log in here
Approved by the
Utah State Parks
Good for life!
Get your official
Utah Boating License
Utah Boating Regulations and Laws
The Utah Boating Safety Certificate (also referred to as the Utah boating license) is required for all persons 12 and 17 years of age who wish to operate motorboats. The Utah Boating Safety Certificate serves as proof that a boater has taken and passed an approved boater education course.
The Course material and Exam on this website is approved by the Utah State Parks.
The Utah State Parks and other state agencies regulating boating laws recognize the Boater Education Card that you can receive after successfully completing the Utah Safe Boating Exam on this website which makes you eligible for discounts on marine insurance
Many boating fatalities occur because boaters aren't educated about boating safety. The Utah believes that an educated boater is a safer boater.
Where can I take my safe boating exam and get my Boater Education Card?
You can take both your Boating Safety Course and your Certification Exam directly online at BOATERexam.com®. Once you pass the exam your boating safety education certificate will be mailed to your home. In the meantime, you can print off a Temporary Boating Safety Certificate that can be used as a temporary license to satisfy the Utah boating regulations until your permanent certificate arrives.
Where can I get the boater safety education course material?
All the required safe boating training material to get your boating safety education certificate is available at BOATERexam.com®. Simply visit our Utah Safe Boating Course section to gain access to the training material. The Utah Safe Boating Course is approved by the Utah State Parks.
Where can I get more information about Utah boating regulations and the Utah boater education card?
Answers to most of your questions about the Utah boater's license can be found by viewing our Frequently Asked Questions. You may also visit the Utah State Parks for additional information, or you can contact us and we will be glad to answer any of your questions.
Did you know?
Many boaters incorrectly use the term "Utah Boating License" when referring to their Boating Safety Education Certificate. The Boating Safety Education Certificate is NOT a boating license. Unlike a driver's license, your Boating Safety Education Certificate cannot be revoked and is good for life.
Boater Education is required for all persons between 12 and 17 years of age who operate a powered watercraft on Utah waters.