Laws & Regulations
Who needs the Oklahoma Boater Education Card?
All boaters between 12 and 15 years of age must have an Oklahoma Boater Education Card to operate any motorized watercraft over 10 HP or sailboat 16 feet or longer. BOATERexam.com® is a delegated provider for the Oklahoma Highway Patrol Marine Enforcement Section.
Returning user? Log in here
Approved by the
Oklahoma Highway Patrol Marine Enforcement Section
Good for life!
Get your official
Oklahoma Boating License
Oklahoma Boating Regulations and Laws
The Oklahoma Boater Education Card (also referred to as the Oklahoma boating license) is proof that a boater has taken and passed an approved boater education course. The Oklahoma Highway Patrol Marine Enforcement Sectioncurrently has a mandatory boater education requirement that requires any person who is 12, 13, 14 or 15 years of age that operates any boat powered by a motor more than 10 horsepower, a sailboat 16 feet or greater in length or a personal watercraft (PWC) to successfully complete a boating safety education class to satisfy the Oklahoma boating regulations.
Many boating fatalities occur because boaters aren't educated about boating safety. The Oklahoma believes that an educated boater is a safer boater.
Where can I take my safe boating exam and get my Boater Education Card?
You can take your safe boating exam directly on the Internet at BOATERexam.com®. Once you pass the exam your boater education card is mailed to your home. In the meantime, you can print off a Certificate of Completion that can be used as a temporary card to satisfy the Oklahoma boating regulations until your permanent boater education card arrives.
Where can I get the boater safety education course material?
All the required safe boating training material to get your boater education card is available at BOATERexam.com®. Simply visit our Oklahoma Safe Boating Course section to gain access to the training material. The Oklahoma Safe Boating Course is approved by the Oklahoma Highway Patrol Marine Enforcement Section.
Where can I get more information about Oklahoma boating regulations and the Oklahoma boater education card?
Answers to most of your questions about the Oklahoma boater's license can be found by viewing our Frequently Asked Questions. You may also visit the Oklahoma Highway Patrol Marine Enforcement Section for additional information, or you can contact us and we will be glad to answer any of your questions.
Did you know?
Many boaters incorrectly use the term "Oklahoma Boating License" when referring to their Boater Education Card. The Boater Education Card is NOT a boating license. Unlike a driver's license, your Boater Education Card cannot be revoked and is good for life.
Any person who is 12, 13, 14 or 15 years of age that operates any boat powered by a motor more than 10 horsepower, a sailboat 16 feet or greater in length or a personal watercraft (PWC) is required to successfully complete a boating safety education class.