MENU

Take your ALABAMA
Boater Exam Online

Who needs an Alabama Boat Operators Certification/License?

All persons who operate a motorized boat on Alabama waters need to obtain an Alabama Vessel License. You must be at least 12 years old to get your license. BOATERexam.com® is a delegated provider for the ALEA Marine Police Division.

Alabama Boat Operators Certification/License
ALEA Marine Police Division

Approved by the

ALEA Marine Police Division

Boat Operators Certification/License is good for life

Good for life!

Get your official
Alabama Boating License

Get your Alabama Boating License in
3 Easy Steps

Take your Boater Exam and be certified for life!

Step 1: Study the Course

Study the Course

Watch, listen and learn

Step 2: Pass the Exam

Pass the Exam

Retries are always free

Step 3: Get your License

Get your License

Visit a DPS Driver's License Office

Over 2,000,000 boating students certified and counting:

BOATERexam.com has a TrustPilot rating of 4.7 out of 5 based on 17707 ratings and reviews.

Alabama Boat Operators Certification/License

Alabama Boater Safety Course

In Alabama, all operators must either pass a state proficiency exam or complete a boater safety course approved by the Alabama Marine Patrol Division in order to operate a motorboat with greater than 15 hp. Boaters must carry their vessel operator's license as proof of boater education.



Boating Age Requirements

  • Persons who are under the age of 12 may not, in any instance, operate a motorized vessel including personal watercraft
  • Boat operators must be at least 12 years of age to receive their Alabama Boat Operators Certificate

The Boating Safety Enhancement Act which came into effect on January 1, 2002 set the minimum age for operating a motorized vessel without direct adult supervision at 14 years of age. However, there are certain exceptions to this rule; the following may operate a vessel without adult supervision:

  • Residents of the state of Alabama who were 12 years of age or older on January 1, 2002 that have obtained their Boat Operators Certificate
  • Residents of the state of Alabama who had obtained a Boat Operators Certificate prior to January 1, 2002
  • Non-Residents aged between 12 and 14 years, who had obtained a Boat Operators Certificate in their home state prior to January 1, 2002
  • A non-resident, 12 years old but less than 14 years old, who has not obtained an operator’s license or who has an operator license from his or her home state may not operate a vessel unless there is a person, 21 years old or older, with a valid operator’s license (unless a non-resident) on board and in a position to take immediate physical control of the vessel if necessary
  • Non-residents 14 years old or older may operate alone in Alabama under the 45-day grace period


Personal Watercraft (PWC) Age Requirements

PWC operators in Alabama must be at least twelve (12) years old but cannot operate without adult supervision until at least fourteen (14) years of age.

Mobile Optimized

Boating safety course on an iPad and iPhone

Study on Any Device

From laptop to mobile phone to tablet, choose when and where to take your boating course and get your Alabama Boating License.

Visual Exam Questions

person looking at screens of the illustrated boating safety course

Visual Exam Questions Help You Learn

We found out a long time ago that people learn best when they can see what they're learning. Shouldn't you be tested the same way? Every one of our exam questions is illustrated to help you get your boating licence.

Engaging Videos

person pressing play on a boating safety course video on a tablet screen

Hundreds of Engaging Videos

Our Alabama boating license course features hundreds of rich engaging boating videos and animations. That means you aren't just reading: You're watching, listening and learning.

Alabama Approved, Trusted Nationwide

Map of the United States

BOATERexam.com® is trusted by agencies across the United States to deliver the best of quality in boating safety education. Our courses consistently receive the highest level of approval from agencies and from boaters.

This official Alabama boating safety course is approved by the ALEA Marine Police Division.

ALEA Marine Police Division logo

ALEA Marine Police Division
PO Box 304115
Montgomery, AL 36130
http://www.alea.gov/Home/

Logos; Global Marine Insurance, BOATERexam.com

Save On Boat Insurance

We've partnered with Global Marine Insurance to bring you a fast, convenient way to protect your investment and hit the water with peace of mind. Global Marine's boat insurance experts work with the major insurance carriers to find you the coverage you need at the best rates, it couldn't be easier. Get your quote and start saving today!

Quick Online Quote
people in a boat on the water
Wavve boating app open on mobile phone
Wavve Boating Logo

A Wavve Of Savings

Start Your Free 2-Week Trial

Wavve Boating provides easy to use GPS navigation, customizable nautical maps, social connectivity and more. Get the iOS or Android app today!

Start My Trial

AL Boating Regulations E-Book

Downloadable Alabama State Specific Boating Rules
and Regulations E-book!

Download them, print them, share them, save them to your mobile device! From registration to accident reporting to invasive species to law enforcement.

Everything state specific to Alabama, in one neat & tidy little E-book. NOTE: Not a substitute for the online course. Download PDF Now!

Alabama State Boating Rules and Regulations Ebook

Alabama Frequently Asked Questions

Below are some common questions about safe boating rules & regulations.

Q.

How much does the boat safety course cost?

A.

There is a one-time fee of $34.95 paid to BOATERexam.com®. It includes unlimited attempts at the final exam.

Q.

What payment methods are accepted?

A.

We accept payments by VISA, Mastercard, AMEX, PayPal, and Prepaid vouchers.

Q.

What is the "Certificate of Completion"?

A.

The Certificate of Completion is a temporary proof of competency and proves that you took a boater education course and passed.

Q.

What is the Alabama Boat Operators Certification/License?

A.

The Boat Operators Certification/License (also known as the Alabama boating license or boaters license) is proof that you have met the mandatory boat safety education requirements for the State of Alabama. The Boat Operators Certification/License appears as a "V" class on your Alabama Driver's License.

Q.

I do not have a driver's license. Can I still get the Alabama boater license?

A.

If you do not have the Alabama driver's license you will be issued an Alabama "Vessel Only" license by the Department of Public Safety.

Q.

How can I get my Alabama boating license?

A.

You can obtain your Alabama boater license in 4 easy steps:

  1. Pay the one-time fee of $34.95 – free unlimited retries of the final exam
  2. Study the Alabama Boating Safety Course
  3. Receive your Certificate of Completion by mail within 1-2 weeks
  4. Go to a Department of Public Safety Driver License Examiner's Office to have your driver's license endorsed, or to obtain a "vessel only" license. NOTE: Other fees apply at the Driver's License Office. Visit www.outdooralabama.com for more information

NOTE: Additional fees are collected at the Department of Public Safety. A one-time application fee of $5, along with a $23 fee for issuance of a new license will be charged. For more information visit www.outdooralabama.com.

Q.

How long is the boat safety course and boater license good for?

A.

The boater license is good for life. It is renewed automatically with your state driver's license.

Q.

Is anyone exempt from obtaining the Alabama boating license?

A.

Yes, there are certain exemptions from the boat safety education requirement. For more information, check out the Alabama Boating Laws page.

Q.

Is there a time limit to complete the online course?

A.

You can take the online course at any time, day or night. However, courses must be completed within 90 days of payment at which time your access to the course will expire.

Q.

How many questions are on the exam?

A.

The exam consists of 60 multiple choice questions.

Q.

What is the passing grade?

A.

The passing grade is 80%, or 48 correct answers out of 60 questions.

Need help? Contact Us!

We've helped over 2 million people get certified online. So we know what it takes. Think of us as a coach who you can
call or email if you ever need help.

Available when you need us!
7 days a week
9AM to MIDNIGHT (EST)

Phone Support
usa: 1-866-764-2628
can: 1-866-688-2628